Sussex Regatta; History of the race


The Sussex Regatta is an event organised by the Sussex Combined Clubs committee, consisting of representatives from yacht clubs around sussex. The event traditionally rotates between Sovereign Harbour, Brighton, and Sussex Yacht Clubs, with SHYC playing host in 2006, 2007, and 2015.

At first each club was left alone to organise whatever sort of regatta they preferred. But since 2005 there has been increasing cooperation between the clubs to share resources, expertise and to improve the standard of racing. Increasingly the regatta has attracted entries from further afield, and in 2006 there were 70 entries when the regatta was held in Eastbourne.

The event was recognised by the Royal Ocean Racing Club in 2016, inaugurating the first Sussex IRC Championship.

Check the Official Website for updates and further details of race dates and venues.